Add to CPD Subscribe to page updates

Adult Safeguarding

Level 1: all staff in healthcare settings (includes practice receptionists and non-clinical staff​) – two hours of training should be repeated every three years.

Level 2: all non-clinical and clinical staff who have regular contact with patients, their families or the public (includes registered nurses and GP Practice Managers) – 3–4 hours of training should be repeated every three years.

Level 3: all healthcare staff involved in assessing, planning, intervening and evaluating the needs of adults where there are safeguarding concerns (includes GPs and Registered Nurses) eight hours of training should be repeated every three years.

See Downloads for guidance document.

Level 1 and 2 can be accessed via:


Level 1: all practice staff should complete basic prevent awareness training and level 1 adult-safeguarding e-learning.

Level 1 can be accessed a number of ways, including:

Level 3: all GPs are required to demonstrate level 3 understanding of identifying, responding and working within a multi-agency context in relation to Prevent concerns.

Level 3 can be accessed via:

For more information visit NHS England or to discuss a Prevent concern, please contact CCG Prevent Lead, Victoria Gray, or Named GP Safeguarding Adults, Dr Dee Hora.

For clinical queries and referrals, see also the Adult Safeguarding page.


Child Safeguarding

Level 1: for all non-clinical staff, receptionists and administration staff

This is an e-learning programme that must be completed before attending a face-to-face session.

Level 3: for all clinical staff who work with children, young people, parents/carers (GPs, Practice Nurses and HCAs)

Clinicians should update their Level 3 training every two years.

Level-3 training can be accessed via:


Information Governance

The IG Toolkit is accessible online and annual IG assessments can be started at any time once the new version is made available by HSCIC.

Each assessment must be completed and published by the GP Practice before the 31st March of each year.

For further information about the practice responsibilities for information governance, please click here.